The Golden Boot was first awarded in Spain 1982 World Cup as the Golden Shoe was inaugurally awarded to former Italy international striker Paulo Rossi who scored 6 goals in the tournament.

In South Africa 2010 World cup, the name was changed to FIFA golden boot and it was won by Thomas Muller who beat David Villa and Diego Forlan though they scored 5 goals apiece but was given to him because he played fewer minutes.

In the ongoing tournament in Russia, Harry Kane is now the frontrunner, scoring 6 goals his closest challenger is Belgium forward Romelu Lukaku who has netted four goals with one assist and accumulation of 326 minutes played and still counting.

The French duo of Kylian Mbappe and Antoine Griezman have found the net three times each.

All four contenders will be in action on Tuesday and Wednesday semi-final clash to seek a place in the final. They will look to increase their tally.

Harry’s England face Croatia and Belgium slug it out with France in  a contest Belgium top scorer Rumelu Lukaku will hope to break his knock out stage scoring jinx.

Sport lovers always drop a comment